How to cancel or reschedule a live session and notify learners?

With the Zoom integration in Knorish, you can set up and conduct live meetings or webinars as a single session,  multiple sessions, ongoing sessions, and even webinars straight from your Knorish site. However, after scheduling a live event, there may be a time when you may need to cancel a live event or reschedule it. 

When rescheduling the time slot or canceling a live session, it is equally important to also notify participants of the cancellation or changes in the time slot. This can be done through the email options available in the live section of the course.

In this article, we’ll show you how to reschedule or cancel a live session and also send the message to learners notifying them of the changes. 

Here's how to reschedule or cancel a live session and notify students

A. Editing A Live Session

Steps_to_Edit_a_Live_Session (1)
    1. Go to your Dashboard>Courses
    2. Open Course>Curriculum>Live Session 
    3. Select active Live Session 
    4. Click on Edit Live Section on Right Top
    5. Make changes & select Next>Confirm

Note:  Any Live Session can be edited up to a minimum of 30 minutes before its start time. Beyond that, the session cannot be edited.


B. Notifying the students of any changes or cancellations

Here’s how you can notify the enrolled learner of any changes or cancellations of the Live Session: 

Note: By default, every enrolled learner will be sent an email reminder for the event one hour prior to the beginning of the Live Session. Learners can simply click on the 'Join Session' button in the email and attend the session directly. They may be asked to re-login if they are logged out from the site.  

 

Video_notifying_the_students_of_any_changes_or_cancellations (1)


You can customize the notification e-mailers further by the following steps:
 

  1. Go to Course > Courses
  2. Click on Edit Session Settings in Content
  3. Scroll down to Create Email Reminders section 
  4. You can customize your email as desired by selecting the tool icon under Actions.
  5. Alternatively, you can create email Reminders: Reminder Email, Cancellation or Custom Email.



Here’s how to edit an email: 

  1. Type in the Email subject
  2. Write a message in the Email body
  3. Set the delivery time
  4. Send Test Mail to a specific email ID for quality check   
  5. Turn on/ off Calendar Invite & click ‘Save’ 

With this, you have just successfully created a reminder for a live session that will be delivered to all the participants who have successfully enrolled for the session.

IMP: When looking to cancel a session, please ensure that a cancellation email is sent out first. This would ensure all your participants are informed of the change. Only once the email is sent from the site, should you cancel the session on the platform. In case the session is canceled first, the email would be deleted and will NOT be sent even if scheduled already. 

C.   Canceling a Live Session 

Cancelling_a_Live_Session_Video

To cancel a particular Live Zoom Session or Webinar, you must notify the attendees first and delete the session within the curriculum. 

To do this, you could also send a cancellation email. As mentioned above,  when looking to cancel a session, please ensure that a cancellation email is sent out first so that all your participants are informed of the change. 

Note: In case the session is canceled first, any cancellation email already set up would be deleted and will NOT be sent to the learners.  


If instead of canceling, a reschedule is required, you can edit the live session from the Curriculum section by clicking on Edit Live Section.

Here are the steps on how cancellations are to be done in your live session/webinar: 

    1. Go to your Dashboard>Courses
    2. Open Course>Curriculum>Live Session 
    3. Click Delete {Live Session} Chapter
    4. To delete a {Live Session} Section>delete all Chapters first
    5. Click Delete Section

Note: Any individual chapter or session can be deleted, however, a section would need you to delete the chapters in it before deletion. Deleting your Live Session in Knorish will automatically cancel your Live Zoom session.